Minutes Meeting of the Board of Directors Massachusetts Fruit Growers' Association, Inc. Old Mill Restaurant, Westminster, Massachusetts December 5, 2018

The meeting was called to order by President DiNardo at 1:00 PM. Individuals present were Wes Autio, Kate Bailey, Mike Botelho, Bill Broderick, Frank Carlson, Jon Clements, Joanne DiNardo, Alex Dowse, Kip Graham, Pat Kriksceonaitis, Rick LeBlanc, Andrew Martin, Chelcie Martin, Ken Nicewicz, Joel O'Toole, Jaime Piñero, Al Rose, Sonia Schloemann, and Chris Smith. DiNardo gave words of welcome.

Secretary's Report

Minutes of the April 4, 2018, directors' meeting were presented, moved, seconded, and passed unanimously. Autio presented current membership statistics. On December 5, the association had 77 active, 49 associate, 15 courtesy, and 4 life members.

Treasurer's Report

The General Fund began the year with a balance of \$74,100.78. Receipts as of December 5 totaled \$35,432.25, and disbursements totaled \$22,672.05. The balance on December 5 was \$86,860.98. The Horticultural Research Fund began the year with a balance of \$295,344.08. The balance in the Horticultural Research Fund on December 5 was \$278,070.09, for a 2018 change of -5.8%. The Treasurer's Report was moved, seconded, and passed unanimously.

Reports

Legislative Committee (Dowse), UMass Fruit Advisory Committee (Carlson), Harvest Labor (O'Toole), and Marketing Committee (Nicewicz) reported briefly. Kip Graham gave a brief report on FSA. Mike Botelho and Rick LeBlanc gave reports on activities of MDAR. Sonia Schloemann distributed the annual report of the UMass Fruit Program. Jaime Piñero reported briefly on his research.

New Business

It was moved that the Annual Business Meeting will be on January 10 at the Great Wolf Lodge in Fitchburg. The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.

Autio presented a draft ballot for presentation at the Annual Meeting. It included Joanne DiNardo for president, Ben Clark, Chris Smith, and Mark Tuttle for vice presidents, Wes Autio for secretary and treasurer, and Ken Nicewicz for auditor. For directors, it included Bill Broderick, Pat Kriksceonaitis, Alex Dowse, Lynn Lundberg, Andrew Martin, Peter Mitchell, and Elly Vaughn (with the voter choosing four). The proposed ballot was moved, seconded, and passed unanimously.

It was moved to donate \$1000 to the IFTA Rootstock Research Fund. The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 3:05 PM.

Respectfully submitted by Wesley R. Autio, *Secretary*